Tibet and Russia: Diplomatic Contacts

September 8, 2014
Review by Dr. Nawang Rabgyal

RUSSIA AND TIBET: A COLLECTION OF DOCUMENTS FROM ARCHIVES OF FOREIGN POLICY OF  RUSSIAN EMPIRE
Chief Editors:  E.A. Belov and L.C.Efimova
Publisher Oriental Literature
Moscow, 2005, pages 232

The Russian Academy of Sciences branches in Moscow of the Institute of  Oriental Studies and Institute of Far East had jointly compiled and published the documentary study of the diplomatic contacts between Tibet and Russia in the early 20th century during the reign of the Great 13th Dalai Lama and Russian Emperor Nicholos -II.

The compiled book in Russian consists of 122 original documents from Russian Foreign Policy Archives, including correspondences between the 13th Dalai Lama and Russian Tsar Nicholos-II, reports and letters from Russian diplomatic representatives and agents in Beijing, Urga (Ulan Baator in Mongolia), Calcutta and London. The collected documents deal with scarcely explored pages in the history of international relations in Central Asia and Far East. These documents exhibit the significance of Tibet in Russian foreign policy. It also touches on the features of Tibets relationship with China and Great Britain and  attempts to consolidate Tibets independence.

The documents describe the significant role played by Agvan Dorjiev (Ngawang Dorjee, Tsanshab dialectical debate partner of the 13th Dalai Lama) in establishing diplomatic contacts between Tibet and Russia. In 1901 Tsanshab Ngawang Dorjee, appointed by the 13th Dalai Lama as Tibets Special Envoy, was received by Tsar Nicholos II at St. Petersburg. According to Odessa News Report, Agvan Dorjievs visit (to the capital of Russia) was aimed at furthering the goodwill between Russia and Tibet, and on the agenda of the talks with Russian Foreign Minister was the question of establishing a permanent Tibetan Mission in St. Petersburg. In 1905 the construction of the Buddhist Temple (named Kun-tse-Chos-Ling Datsang) was started in St. Petersburg with major financial contribution from the 13th Dalai Lama and it was consecrated by Tsanshab Ngawang Dorjee on August 10, 1915, when the Tibetan national flag was hoisted in the capital of  Russia along with flags of Russia and Mongolia.

* * *

Also, the history of diplomatic contacts between Tibet and Russia in early 20th century was covered by three prominent Russian scholars in their books, as below:

 

«Tibet: The Great Game and Tsarist Russia»
by Dr. Tatiana L. Shaumian.
Published: Oxford University Press, 2000, pages 223.

 

«Russia's Tibet File»
Nikolai S Kuleshov.
Publisher: Library of Tibetan Works & Archives, Dharamsala, 1996, 144 pages

 

Soviet Russia and Tibet, The Debacle of Secret Diplomacy, 1918-1930s
Dr. Alexandre Andreyev.
Publisher: Brill's Tibetan Studies Library, 2003, 434 pages

The historical, cultural and spiritual contacts and connection between the peoples of Tibet and Russia were established in the 17th century, when the Tibetan Buddhism began to spread to Russias region of  Lake Baikal and Volga, where Buryats and Kalmyks migrated and settled down there. The Imperial Russia was the first European country that had diplomatic contact with independent Tibet in the early 20th century.

Dr. Nawang Rabgyal
is Representative of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to Russia and CIS.

By: www.tibet.net

 

 

home | news | Tibet-2004 | Tibet-2005 | Partners | Tibet Houses around the world
  / Tibet House in Moscow
tel.: +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: chintamany@inbox.ru   moscow@tibethouse.ru
© 2004-2021

Тибет и Россия: Дипломатические отношения

8 сентября 2014 г.
Обзор д-ра Наванга Рабгьяла

Книга «РОССИЯ И ТИБЕТ: Сборник архивных документов о внешней политике Российской империи», Главные редакторы: Т.А. Шаумян, Е.А.Белов, Л.С.Ефимова; Издательство «Восточная литература», Москва, 2005 г., 232 стр.

Учреждения Российской академии наук - Институт востоковедения и Институт Дальнего Востока в Москве составили и опубликовали документальное исследование о дипломатических отношениях Тибета и России в начале 20-го века во время правления Великого Далай-ламы XIII и Российского императора Николая II.

В книге на русском языке собраны 122 оригинальных документа из Архива внешней политики Российской империи, включая переписку между Далай-ламой XIII и русским царем Николаем II, донесения и письма российских дипломатических представителей и агентов из Пекина, Урги (Улан-Батор, Монголия), Калькутты и Лондона. Публикуемые документы знакомят читателей с неизвестными страницами истории международных отношений в Центральной Азии и на Дальнем Востоке, дают представление о значении Тибета в российской внешней политике. В них также затрагиваются особенности отношений Тибета с Китаем и Великобританией, попытки укрепить независимость Тибета.

В документах представлена особая роль Агвана Доржиева (Нгаванга Дордже; цаншаба – партнера Далай-ламы XIII по философскому диспуту) в установлении дипломатических отношений между Тибетом и Россией. В 1901 году цаншаб Нгаванг Дордже, назначенный  Далай-ламой XIII Специальным посланником Тибета, был принят царем Николаем II в Санкт-Петербурге. По материалам Одесской газеты News Report «визит Агвана Доржиева (в столицу России) был направлен на дальнейшее укрепление дружбы между Россией и Тибетом. На повестке дня переговоров с Российским министром иностранных дел стоял вопрос о создании постоянной тибетской миссии в Санкт-Петербурге». В 1905 году внесение Далай-ламой XIII крупного финансового вклада положило начало строительству буддийского храма (Кун-цзы-Чо-Линг Дацан) в Санкт-Петербурге. 10 августа 1915 года цаншаб Нгаванг Дордже освятил храм, и в столице России наряду с российским и монгольским флагами водрузили Тибетский национальный флаг.

 

«Россия и Тибет. Сборник русских архивных документов», 1900—1914»
Евгений Белов, О. Святецкая, Татьяна Шаумян.
Издательство Восточная литература, 2005 г., 232 стр. (на русс. языке; Russian)

 

«Tibet: The Great Game and Tsarist Russia»
by Dr. Tatiana L. Shaumian.
Published: Oxford University Press, 2000, pages 223.

«Тибет: Большая игра и царская Россия»
Д-р Татьяна Л. Шаумян.
Издательство Оксфордского университета, 2000г., 223 стр.(на англ. языке)

 

«Россия и Тибет в начале XX века»
Кулешов Н.С.
Издательство Наука, 1992 г., 232 с. (на русс. языке; Russian)

«Россия и Тибет»
Д-р Николай С. Кулешов.
Издательство LTWA, Дхарамсала, 1996 г., 144 стр. (на англ. языке)

«Russia's Tibet File»
Nikolai S Kuleshov.
Publisher: Library of Tibetan Works & Archives, Dharamsala, 1996, 144 pages

 

«Тибет в политике царской, советской и постсоветской России»
Д-р Александр И. Андреев.
Издательство С.-Петербургского университета — «Нартанг», С.-Петербург, 2006г., 465 стр. (на русс. языке)

 

«Советская Россия и Тибет, Разоблачение тайной дипломатии, 1918-1930г.г.»
Д-р Александр И. Андреев.
Библиотека тибетологии, Брилль, 2003г., 434 стр. (на англ. языке)

«Soviet Russia and Tibet, The Debacle of Secret Diplomacy, 1918-1930s»
Dr. Alexandre Andreyev.
Publisher: Brill's Tibetan Studies Library, 2003, 434 pages

Исторические, культурные и духовные связи между народами Тибета и России установились в 17 веке, когда тибетский буддизм пришел в российские регионы Байкала и Волги, куда прибыли и обосновались буряты и калмыки. Царская Россия была первой европейской страной, которая в начале 20-го века установила дипломатические отношения с независимым Тибетом.

Д-р Наванг Рабгьял,
Директор Центра тибетской культуры и информации,
Представитель Его Святейшества Далай-ламы в РФ и СНГ.

По материалам:
www.tibet.net

 

 

 

на главную | новости | Тибет-2004 | Тибет-2005 | Друзья и партнеры | Тибетские Дома по всему миру
  2004-2017 © Региональная общественная организация по изучению
традиционного уклада жизни и обычаев народов Тибета «Тибетский дом»

107045, Москва, Рождественский бульвар, 19
Тел.: +7-499-130-42-97; +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: moscow@tibethouse.ru   tibethousemoscow@gmail.com | Реквизиты