Study Sheds New Light on Peopling of Tibet

A new analysis of Chusang, an archeological site on the high-altitude Tibetan Plateau, suggests that permanent residents may have set up camp thousands of years sooner than previously thought.


These fossilized human footprints near Chusang, Tibet, were made between 13,000-7,400 years ago,
according to a new analysis.
Image credit: Mark Aldenderfer / M.C. Meyer et al.

Previous analyses estimated that Chusang’s founding residents arrived about 5,200 years ago, but now a more comprehensive analysis by University of Innsbruck researcher Michael Meyer and co-authors suggests that it was inhabited — likely on a permanent basis — between 13,000 and 7,400 years ago.

“Upon leaving Africa, humans effectively spread out across most of the Earth, but the timing of their arrival in the highest Himalyan ranges has been unclear,” Dr. Meyer and his colleagues said.

“Among some of the best preserved sites for scientists to study is the Chusang site, which is located on the central plateau 50 miles (80 km) northwest of Lhasa at an elevation of 14,000 feet (4,270 m), near Chusang, a village known for its hydrothermal springs and extensive travertine formations.”

“Discovered in 1998, the site features 19 human hand- and footprints along the surface of a fossil travertine.”

In attempts to better date the settlement, the researchers used three different techniques, including thorium/uranium dating of samples taken from and adjacent to the prints; optically stimulated luminescence to determine the date of quartz crystals in the travertine; and radiocarbon dating on microscopic plant remains at Chusang.

Their new estimated range for the settlement is between 7,400 and 12,670 years ago.

“We report a reanalysis of the chronology of the Chusang site. The minimum age of the site is fixed at 7.4 thousand years (thorium-230/uranium dating), with a maximum age between 8.20 and 12.67 thousand calibrated carbon-14 years before present (carbon-14 assays),” the authors said.

The finding is consistent with research on the genetics of modern Tibetan Plateau people showing that they adapted genetically to the high-elevation environment beginning at least 8,000 years ago.

While some scientists have suggested that a human presence on the Tibetan Plateau at those early dates was only a result of short-term, seasonal movement from low-elevation base camps, this work shows that it is much more likely that the hand- and footprints were made by permanent residents.

“The distance between lowland environments and the Chusang site would have required at least 230 miles (370 km) of foot travel across the Himalayan arc — a path far too long and treacherous for temporary use of the site, and far greater than what has been documented among most historic hunter-gatherers,” said co-author Dr. Randy Haas, from the University of Wyoming.

“The early Tibetan Plateau settlers managed to survive at high elevation at least 7,400 years ago, before the development of an agricultural economy between 5,200-3,600 years ago.”

Details of the research were published in the Jan. 6, 2017 issue of the journal Science

* M.C. Meyer et al. 2017. Permanent human occupation of the central Tibetan Plateau in the early Holocene. Science 355 (6320): 64-67; doi: 10.1126/science.aag0357


By:
www.sci-news.com

 

home | news | Tibet-2004 | Tibet-2005 | Partners | Tibet Houses around the world
  Тибетский Дом в Москве / Tibet House in Moscow
107045, Moscow, Rozhdestvensky blvrd, 19
tel.: +7-499-130-42-97; +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: moscow@tibethouse.ru   tibethousemoscow@gmail.com
© 2004-2017

Исследование появления первых поселенцев в Тибете

Новое исследование Чусанга, места археологических раскопок на высоком Тибетском нагорье, дает повод предположить, что постоянные жители, возможно, поселились там на тысячи лет ранее, чем это считалось прежде.


Новое исследование показывает, что эти окаменелые следы человека,
обнаруженные рядом с Чусангом в Тибете, относятся к жителям этого района,
проживающим там 13000-7400 лет назад.
Снимок сделан Марком Альденфером / M.C. Мейером и др.

Согласно предыдущим исследованиям, первые жители Чусанга прибыли туда около 5200 лет назад, однако недавнее более тщательное исследование Майкла Мейера и его коллег из Инсбрукского университета позволяет предположить, что эта местность была заселена (скорее всего, постоянными жителями) около 13000 -7400 лет назад.

«Покинув Африку, люди расселились по всей планете, однако время их прибытия на Высокие Гималаи оставалось неясным», - сказал д-р Мейер и его коллеги.

«Среди немногих из наиболее хорошо сохранившихся мест для исследования является место, расположенное на центральном плато в 50 милях (80 км) к северо-западу от Лхасы на высоте 14000 футов (4270 м) недалеко от Чусанга, поселения, известного своими гидротермальными источниками и обширными залежами белого известняка (травертина)».

«Это место, обнаруженное в 1998 году, отмечено 19 отпечатками человеческих рук и ног по всей поверхности окаменелого известняка.

В попытках более точно определить время возникновения этого поселения, исследователи использовали три разных метода: изучение образцов тория / урана, взятых рядом с отпечатками человеческих руг и ног; метод оптически стимулированной люминесценции для датировки кристаллов кварца в травертине и определение возраста радиоуглерода на микроскопических частицах растительных остатков в Чусанге.

В итоге, новое предполагаемое время заселения человеком этого места: 7400-12670 лет назад.

«Мы сообщаем о повторном исследовании времяисчисления Чусанга. Минимальный возраст этого места  - 7,4 тысяч лет (датировка тория -230 / урана), и максимальный возраст – 8,20- 12,67 тысяч  лет (датировка углерода - 14 проб углерода)», - сказали исследователи.

Такой вывод соответствует исследованиям по генетике современного населения Тибетского нагорья, которые показывают, что люди, проживающие там, генетически адаптировались к окружающей среде этой возвышенности примерно 8000 лет назад.

В то время как некоторые ученые предполагали, что присутствие человека на Тибетском плато в те древние времена являлось лишь результатом временного сезонного перемещения из поселений, расположенных в низовьях, данное исследование показывает, что вероятнее всего отпечатки человеческих рук и ног принадлежат постоянным жителям этой местности.

«Расстояние между равнинами в низовье и Чусангом составляло минимум 230 миль (370 км) путешествия пешком по Гималайской дуге (путь слишком длинный и опасный для того, чтобы селиться в этом месте лишь на время), а также было больше того расстояния, документально зафиксированного большинством исторических  охотников-собирателей», - сказал соавтор исследования доктор Рэнди Хаас из университета штата Вайоминг.

«Ранним поселенцам Тибетского нагорья удалось выжить на большой высоте примерно 7400 лет назад, еще до развития сельского хозяйства 5200-3600 лет назад».

Подробное исследование опубликовано 6 января 2017 года в журнале Science.

*M.C. Meyer et al. 2017. Permanent human occupation of the central Tibetan Plateau in the early Holocene. Science 355 (6320): 64-67; doi: 10.1126/science.aag0357


По материалам:
www.sci-news.com

 

на главную | новости | Тибет-2004 | Тибет-2005 | Друзья и партнеры | Тибетские Дома по всему миру
  2004-2017 © Региональная общественная организация по изучению
традиционного уклада жизни и обычаев народов Тибета «Тибетский дом»

107045, Москва, Рождественский бульвар, 19
Тел.: +7-499-130-42-97; +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: moscow@tibethouse.ru   tibethousemoscow@gmail.com | Реквизиты